Call to Artists - 43rd Katherine Prize 2018

Entries Now Open

Download Adult Entry form here

Download Youth Entry form here


9th December 2017

Our 2016/2017 Annual Report is now avaialble to view and download.  

2016/2017 Annual Report

1st November 2017


We are now inviting artists, art centres and curators of the Katherine region to submit exhibition proposals for our K-space program in 2018.

K space is a community exhibition space that provides local artists with a high profile exhibition space. K space promotes local artistic professional development.

Proposals must be received by 5.00pm, Friday 16th February, 2018

Post: Address completed Application Form and support material to: The Curator GYRACC P.O Box 613 KATHERINE NT 0851
By hand: Completed Application Form and support material may be delivered to Godinymayin Yijard Rivers Arts & Culture Centre (Stuart Highway, Katherine East).
Email: Completed Application Form and support material may be emailed to:

You can download the application form here

If you decide to submit an application, it is important to read the guidelines. You can download them here

Floor Plan

For more information contact Clare Armitage, Curator & Retail Manager, 08 8972 3751 or


23 June 2017

We're delighted to share the winners of the 42nd Katherine Art Prize:

Brian & Jeanette Lambert Art Award
Winner - Sue Carmody, 'Waterlilies in Bloom'
Commended - Abbey Murray, 'Poincianas at East Point'

Dr Peter & Kathleen Short Craft Award
Winner - Kathleen Donald, 'Bush Tucker Jewellery'
Commended - Wally Wilfred, 'Bush Black Fella'

Godinymayin Youth Awards Winners
Kindy - Year 5: Moses Shanahan, 'Untitled'
Year 6 - Year 9: Shiralee Colling, 'Sail'
Year 10 - Year 12: Kirsten Haddow, 'Amarathine'

A huge thank you to all the participating artists, the Lambert family and the Katherine Town Council.

For more photos check out the photo gallery or our Facebook page: 42nd Katherine Prize Opening Night

8 June 2017

Our July-December 2017 program is now out. 

Please contact us for further details. 

8 May 2017

We've extended the deadline for Katherine Prize entries - entry forms now due Thursday 18 May, with the 42nd Katherine Prize exhibition opening on Friday 23 June.

Entry forms available to download here:
Katherine Prize 2017 entry form
Godinymayin Youth Award 2017 entry form

For more information contact curator Sophie Rayner on 08 8972 3751.

7 January 2017

We're open and ready for another huge year! Check out the program of exhibitions, performances and special events in the first half of 2017:

Program February - June 2017



15 December 2016

Our 2015/2016 Annual Report is now available - to download a copy please click on the link below:

GYRACC Annual Report 2015/2016

9 October 2016

We're very pleased to announce the winner of the inaugural 2016 Katherine Prize People's Choice Award is Daly Waters based artist Kevin Rogers for his work Spirit. Almost five hundred votes were counted with almost all works receiving votes, which just goes to show the breadth of artistic talent we have here in the Territory.

Above: Kevin Rogers with his People's Choice Award winning work Spirit. Image: Jeanette Rogers