Dawn Beasley - When morning Sun falls on Nitmuluk Rock

44th Katherine Prize

Exhibition Date

– 14 Sep 2019

Exhibition Type

The annual Katherine Prize encourages indigenous and non-indigenous residents of the Northern Territory to develop their art practice and showcase their skill to the region.

We are delighted to be able to announce the winners of this years 44th Katherine Prize:

Brian and Jeanette Lambert Award $5,000 presented to Danny Murphy for his work Earthly delights.
Katherine Town Council Award $2,000 presented to Catherine Miles for Hightail
Highly Commended awarded to Mike Rule for his works Kapok’s dreaming and Victoria River rocks and to Tom House for his portrait Jeff.

Winner of the Peoples Choice Award was Gracie Kumbie for Around the billabong.

Thank you to our judges Mr Marcus Schutenko and Mr Brian Tucker.

Winners of the Youth Awards were:

1st Caitlin Stephenson – Untitled
2nd Tirene Dann – Flander’s Fields
3rd – Yasmine Fuller – Landscape
Highly commended – 1/2 Lake (Clyde Fenton School) – Rainbow Serpent, Karla Hawkless – Imagination Explosion
1st Jordan Farrell – Leather Knife Sheath
2nd Felix Walker Sangster – Sunset dream
3rd Isabelle Curtis – Kite (girl)
Highly commended Audrey Lehman – Paper tree
1st Helena Walker – Tucker Journey
2nd Isabella Hall- Gumblossom

Winner of the People’s Choice Youth Award was Isabelle Curtis for Kite (girl).

Thank you to the youth judges Mrs Jeanette Lambert and Mr Danny Murphy.

Dont miss the opportunity to come along to the GALLERY TALK

TUESDAY 6 AUGUST 12.30pm – 1.15pm

Bring your lunch and relax in air-conditioned comfort to enjoy a short presentation about the works that feature in the 44th Katherine Prize.

This is a free community event.

Image credit: 2018 Peoples Choice Winner – Dawn Beasley, When morning sun falls on Nitmiluk rock, 2018, Graphite, acrylic, gesso and oil on canvas

Scroll to Top